AIA SD Convention

The 2022 AIA South Dakota Convention is scheduled for Sept. 15-16 at the Sioux Falls Convention Center, which a special tour the evening prior.



4:30 p.m. — Tour of Sioux Steel RAMP and Ultra-High Performance Concrete System Office


8 a.m. — Welcome, Allison Dvorak, AIA SD President

8:15 a.m. — Opening Keynote Dan Noble, FAIA

9:30 a.m. — Healthcare Panel — Garrett Peters, AIA, Avera Health, and representatives from Sanford, Monument Health and the Flandreau Santee Sioux Tribe; Moderator Allison Dvorak, AIA

10:30 a.m. — BREAK

10:45 a.m. — Sustainable Design Types - Patrick Thibaudeau, JLG Architects

Noon — Luncheon Keynote Jeffrey Day, FAIA

1:30 p.m. — AIA SD Exhibit Hall (Social starts at 4 p.m.)

6 p.m. — Design Awards Social

6:30 p.m. Design Awards with Jeffrey Day, FAIA, Design Awards Juror


8 a.m. — AIA SD Annual Meeting

9 a.m. — County Commissioner Panel — Angie Boersma, AIA, Brookings County Commissioner; Jim Schmidt, Lincoln County Commissioner; Jean Bender, Minnehaha County Commissioner; Pennington County Commissioner; Moderator, Tom Hurlbert, AIA.

10:15 a.m. — Trauma Informed Design - Cindy McCleary, AIA. Leo A. Daly

11:30 a.m. — Mayoral Panel

1:15 p.m. — James Garrett Jr., AIA, 4M+ULA

2:30 p.m. — Kanten Russell, lead designer for New Line Skateparks.

3:45 p.m. — Cherapa Place expansion tour

Thank you to our 2021 convention sponsors

© Copyright 2022, AIA South Dakota
All rights reserved
PO Box 1596, Sioux Falls, SD 57101
(605) 223-0490
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software