3 SD firms take home 6 AIA South Dakota design awards

Published: Sep 15th, 2017

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. – Three South Dakota architecture firms took home six American Institute of Architecture (AIA) South Dakota Design Awards on Friday, Sept. 15, during a ceremony held as part of the 2017 Leading by Design conference.

CO-OP Architecture, with offices in Aberdeen, Sioux Falls and Rapid City, captured AIA South Dakota’s most coveted prize, an Honor Award for Architecture, and the People’s Choice Award for its design of the K.O. Lee Public Library in Aberdeen. CO-OP also won a Merit Award for Historic Preservation and Adaptive Reuse for its renovation of the Minneapolis & St Louis Railroad Depot building into its new Aberdeen office.

Koch Hazard Architects of Sioux Falls took home a coveted Honor Award for Unbuilt Architecture for its design of ARCH House for Affordable Housing Solutions and a Merit Award for Architecture for its design of Stockwell Engineers’ new Sioux Falls office.

Ciavarella Design Architects of Mitchell won a Merit Award for Architecture for its design of El Columpio restaurant in Mitchell.

The five juried awards were judged by El Dorado Inc. of Kansas City.

AIA South Dakota President Gene Fennell, of Fennell Design Inc. in Rapid City, also gave out three President’s Awards.

Michelle Klobassa, of TSP Inc. in Sioux Falls, received a President’s Award for Exceptional Leadership and Service to AIA South Dakota for developing the AIA South Dakota Design Awards into a celebration event.

Dave Van Nieuwenhuyzen, of JLG Architects in Sioux Falls, received a President’s Award for Exceptional Leadership, Service and Mentorship to AIA South Dakota for his service as board president (2014-2015) and past president (2016) and for the co-development of a professional-to-student mentorship program.

AIA South Dakota Executive Director Angela Lammers, of Cetera Services LLC in Sioux Falls, received a President’s Award for Exceptional Service and Guidance to AIA South Dakota leadership and for strengthening AIA South Dakota to better serve members.

Friday night’s award ceremony wrapped up the 2017 Leading by Design conference, the AIA South Dakota convention held this year in partnership with the Great Plains chapter of ASLA. 

AIA South Dakota also announced the election of its new board for 2018-2019.

  • President: Patri Acevedo, AIA, JLG Architects, Rapid City
  • Vice-President: Thomas Hurlbert, AIA, CO-OP Architecture, Sioux Falls
  • Secretary/Treasurer: Michelle Klobassa, AIA, TSP Inc., Sioux Falls
  • Immediate Past President: Gene Fennell, AIA, Fennell Design Inc., Rapid City.
  • New board members: Allison Dvorak, AIA, Koch Hazard Architects, Sioux Falls; Jenn Johnson, AIA, TSP Inc., Rapid City; and Sienna Wegehaupt, Assoc. AIA, Puetz Construction, Mitchell
  • Continuing board members: Leap Chear, AIA, EAPC, Sioux Falls; Keith Thompson, AIA, Koch Hazard Architects, Sioux Falls; Andrew Eitreim, AIA, Architecture Incorporated, Sioux Falls; Kris Bjerke, AIA, Architecture Incorporated, Rapid City; and Brian Rex, Assoc. AIA, South Dakota State University Department of Architecture, Brookings

About AIA SD

AIA South Dakota is a non-profit membership organization composed of architects, future architects and partners in the built design industries. AIA SD members tap into a network of design professionals statewide to learn, share and promote architecture and advance the idea that design matters in every South Dakota community. AIA SD is a state chapter of the American Institute of Architects (AIA).